pyTivo Discussion Forum Forum Index pyTivo Discussion Forum
Answers and the development of pyTivo a TiVo transcoding server

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Slow transfer - Linux

Post new topic   Reply to topic    pyTivo Discussion Forum Forum Index -> Support
 View previous topic :: View next topic  
jstaffon

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 6:31 pm    Post subject: Slow transfer - Linux Reply with quote

I'm just about out of ideas regarding my current problem. I've been running pytivo on a Suse Linux box for many years. Within the last month or so, I've noticed transfer rates between my Suse box and my TivoHD has dropped dramatically. I used to transfer a 1 GB file in about 30 minutes or less, now it takes over an hour. My rule of thumb was that I could transfer a 1.5 hour movie in around 30 minutes. That's far faster than watching the movie in real time while streaming...therefore, I'd never catchup to the transfer while watching the movie. Now, if I start watching the move as soon as I begin the transfer, I catch up to the movie and have to wait for more to transfer before I can resume the movie. The transfer rate is extremely slow. This is a dramatic performance decrease from before. Does anyone know if Tivo has upgraded their software to cause such a problem or is it most likely something on my end. To be honest, the only thing different on my end is a larger hard drive in my Tivo unit. I'm positive however, I had fast transfer rates after the hard drive upgrade. Just to be sure, I'm going to put the original drive back in to verify. As of now, I'm running the latest version of Mr. McBrine's tree at 10/31/2010. BTW, can someone explain why his note says, "Don't want this in my tree, sorry."? What is the most current, best, version to be running?