pyTivo Discussion Forum Forum Index pyTivo Discussion Forum
Answers and the development of pyTivo a TiVo transcoding server
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Pytivo on Synology Diskstation
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    pyTivo Discussion Forum Forum Index -> Support
 View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jcthorne



Joined: 30 Jan 2008
Posts: 384
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2015 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

daneyuleb wrote:
I'm getting a Synology-DiskStation NAS as well. I'm a little lost as to what the outcome of this thread ended up being.

In terms of PyTivo, is there a drawback to simply mapping the drive and pointing PyTivo at it, so it will transcode from the mapped NAS and send to the tivo? (Other than the obvious drawback of the computer being on). Treating the NAS basically just as I do now with my local disk, assuming network speeds are adequate?


That is exactly what I ended up doing. Managing pytivo running on the server was just much more problematic.

Yes, the only real downside to what you propose is the need for a pc to stay running. But the NAS does spin down when not being accessed. Also using a laptop with good power control does not use that much power when not loaded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philhu



Joined: 04 Jan 2008
Posts: 819
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2015 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The final conclusion was...

The synology is too slow to transcode, but super at network file access speeds. So run pytivo somewhere else and point at the files on the nas, let the desktop/whatever do transcoding.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wmcbrine



Joined: 04 Jan 2008
Posts: 2627
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2015 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, that might be somebody's final conclusion. Mine would be: Run pyTivo directly on the NAS, and use it to serve up already-compatible video. If you have stuff that needs transcoding, then run another instance of pyTivo on a machine with more CPU power for that purpose.
_________________
My pyTivo fork . My page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dignan17



Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wmcbrine wrote:
Well, that might be somebody's final conclusion. Mine would be: Run pyTivo directly on the NAS, and use it to serve up already-compatible video. If you have stuff that needs transcoding, then run another instance of pyTivo on a machine with more CPU power for that purpose.

Indeed, that is why I came here. I have no interest in transcoding anything. I want to use pytivo to remove files from my Tivo to my NAS and then back again. That's all.

Is there a final set of instructions for how to do this? I'll go back through this thread, but I've already been looking at several old threads around the web from before DSM 5, so I'd like something recent or at least some idea of whether an old set of instructions would work.

Thanks for any help you can provide!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    pyTivo Discussion Forum Forum Index -> Support All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Page 7 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Site is in NO WAY affiliated with TiVo Inc

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
phpBB SEO

Get pytivo at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads
[ Time: 0.0722s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0111s) ][ GZIP on - Debug on ]