pyTivo Discussion Forum Forum Index pyTivo Discussion Forum
Answers and the development of pyTivo a TiVo transcoding server
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Experimental: Network Camera Plugin for PyTivo

View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 3:03 pm    Post subject: Experimental: Network Camera Plugin for PyTivo Reply with quote

Experimental network camera plugin for pyTivo

I've been tinkering with a network camera. I thought it would be cool to display the images from the network camera "live" on my Tivo, so I decided to develop a network camera plugin for pyTivo. I only have one network camera to play with so support is limited to that camera.

I'd describe my programming skills with Python at a novice level. I'm still learning Python so if you delve into the code, I'm sure you will find better python-esque ways of accomplishing tasks. I'm sorry to say that there is some Windows specific code. Portability was not high on my list of program requirements because I believe this to be a very narrow field of interest.

IP Camera - Dlink DCS-G900. It's cheap, old technology and toy-like. Video quality is fair, poor in low light. This camera supports MJPEG which streams JPEG images. Newer, better and more expensive cameras support MP4 or H.264 streams but that is a project for another day. There is a lot of variability among manufacturers on communication protocols so I'd expect rework for other network cameras.

What I've done so far: